View Mobile Site

Ask the Expert

Signal Photos


Filing deadline extended for City Council race, 11 commit to run so far

Posted: January 10, 2014 6:30 p.m.
Updated: January 10, 2014 6:30 p.m.

With longtime Santa Clarita City Councilman Frank Ferry electing not to run, the deadline to register for April’s City Council race has been extended until Wednesday, officials said Friday.

But even without the extension, this year’s election field for three council seats is a crowded one, with 11 confirmed candidates filing election paperwork with the City Clerk’s office as of Friday evening.

The 11 individuals who have filed to run so far are former congressional candidate Dante Acosta; Valencia residents Dennis Conn and Stephen Daniels; Canyon Country Advisory Committee Chairman Alan Ferdman; longtime Canyon Country resident Berta Gonzalez-Harper; Newhall County Water District board member Maria Gutzeit; city Parks, Recreation and Community Services Commissioner Duane Harte; William S. Hart Union High School District board member Gloria Mercado-Fortine; incumbent Councilwoman Marsha McLean; incumbent Mayor Laurene Weste; and Paul J. Wieczorek.
Weste has served on the council since 1998 and took over as mayor earlier this year. McLean was first elected to the council in 2002.

A potential 12th candidate, Moazzem H. Chowdhury, told The Signal earlier this week that he was leaning toward a run, but he but did not file election papers by Friday.

Ferry’s decision not to file makes formal the intentions that he announced earlier this year. He said in January that he was not planning to seek re-election to the seat he has held since 1998.

Since incumbents are rarely unseated in Santa Clarita City Council elections, the rarity of an unclaimed seat usually draws a crowd of candidates. The election will be held April 8.
On Twitter @LukeMMoney



Most Popular Articles

There are no articles at this time.
Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.


Powered By
Morris Technology
Please wait ...