View Mobile Site

Ask the Expert

Signal Photos


Michele Buttelman: The best teachers in the SCV

SCV Scene

Posted: May 2, 2009 8:00 p.m.
Updated: May 3, 2009 4:55 a.m.
What a wonderful mild spring we’ve had! I’m enjoying the cooler weather and I hope we have a mild summer as well.

SCV’s best teachers
The best teachers in the SCV were honored at Teacher Tribute night on Thursday. Kudos to all the teachers honored.
Castaic Union School District: Lynda Ashley, Castaic Elementary; Jeannette Edwards, Castaic Middle; Ernestina Aguilar, Live Oak Elementary and Carla Huffman, Northlake Hills Elementary.

Newhall School District: Carrie Franz, McGrath Elementary; Michelle Vasquez, Meadows Elementary; Dana Sue Hochman, Newhall Elementary; Janice Brown, Oak Hills Elementary; Jennifer Herrback, Old Orchard Elementary; Jenni Dent, Peachland Elementary; Martha Stafford, Pico Canyon Elementary; Sean Barker, Stevenson Ranch Elementary; Amy Santos, Valencia Valley Elementary and Jennifer Lopez, Wiley Canyon Elementary.

Saugus Union School District: Glen Kubasak, Bouquet Canyon Elementary; Amanda Putman, Bridgeport Elementary; Erin Wiseman, Cedarcreek Elementary; Lori Brink, Emblem Elementary; Donna Spencer, James Foster Elementary; Dobbin Farrell, Charles Helmers Elementary; Marsha Gilpin, Highlands Elementary; Christina Bakoo, Mountainview Elementary; Joanna Trafecanty,  North Park Elementary; Joann Sherman, Plum Canyon Elementary; Patricia Berman, Rio Vista Elementary; Becky Mastrobuono, Rosedell Elementary; Richard Marsh, Santa Clarita Elementary; Carolyn Turk, Skyblue Mesa Elementary and Ana Henry, Tesoro del Valle Elementary.

Sulphur Springs School District: Maureen Teague, Canyon Springs Elementary; Wendy Poore, Fair Oaks Ranch Elementary; Rikki Fayne, Golden Oak Community: Hayley Perez, Leona Cox Elementary; Wendy Maxwell, Mint Canyon Elementary; Sheri Hanks, Mitchell Elementary; Marie LaCross, Pinetree Elementary; Jamie Shillig, Sulphur Springs Elementary and Maureen Server, Valley View Elementary.  

William S. Hart Union High School District: Greg Herrick, Academy of the Canyons; Joanna Johnson, Arroyo Seco Junior; Jamie Herrington, Bowman High; Elizabeth Craig, Canyon High; Carolyn Hoffman, Golden Valley High; Rob Frechette, Hart High; Jeff Stephan, La Mesa Junior High; Christine Parr, Placerita Junior High; Lee Gately, Rancho Pico Junior High; Jeanette Kratofil, Rio Norte Junior High; Frank Koroshec, Saugus High; Fidel Garcia, Sequoia Charter; Lorraine Fulleman, Sierra Vista Junior High; John Minkus, Valencia High; Fayanne Gabel, West Ranch High and Jason Wilhelm, Early College High.

More teacher tributes
I was delighted to see Elizabeth Craig of Canyon High School receive her due at Thursday’s Teacher Tribute held at the Santa Clarita Performing Arts Center on the campus of College of the Canyons. She was the best teacher my daughter ever had.

Taste the Town today
Are you headed out to Taste of the Town to benefit the Child and Family Center?

Head out today 1 p.m to 5 p.m. to the Mann Biomedical Park, 25104 Rye Canyon Loop, Valencia (take Kelly Johnson Parkway). Tickets are $60 each at the door, but you will enjoy great entertainment and food and drink provided by more than 40 of the SCV’s best restaurants and caterers.


Michele Buttelman is the features editor of The Signal. She can be reached by e-mail at


Most Popular Articles

There are no articles at this time.
Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.


Powered By
Morris Technology
Please wait ...