View Mobile Site

Ask the Expert

Signal Photos


Committee named for MRF oversight

Posted: June 8, 2009 9:54 p.m.
Updated: June 9, 2009 8:00 a.m.
The Santa Clarita City Council is set to approve tonight a 13-seat committee to oversee the selection of a site for a much-needed materials recovery facility, or MRF (pronounced "murf").

In addition to council members Laurene Weste and Marsha McLean, the committee includes representatives from seven organizations and four seats available to local residents.

Alan Ferdman is on tap to represent the Canyon Country Advisory Committee.

"The location (of a MRF) has to be appropriate to minimize traffic," he said. "We don't want to just put it in an available site," he said.

Ferdman has lived in Canyon Country since 1965, and was an aerospace engineer for 44 years.

Duane Harte is set to represent the Newhall Redevelopment Committee, and echoed Ferdman's concern that finding the best location is paramount.

A good location, he said, is one that does not create traffic problems, and is where it has a minimal impact on residents.

Harte has worked in direct-mail advertising for 40 years and has lived in the Santa Clarita Valley for 35 years.

Among his qualifications for the committee, he said, "is probably the fact that my office is located right down the street from a MRF and across the street from a landfill (in Sun Valley)."

The local chapter of the Sierra Club has recommended its chair David Morrow as its representative. McLean said she expects he will be a good addition to the committee.

The SCV Chamber of Commerce would be represented by Maria Gutzeit, who sits on the Newhall County Water District board and owns an environmental compliance business.

As of Monday afternoon, the Val Verde Civic Association had yet to submit to the city its recommended representative, city spokeswoman Gail Ortiz said.

Bill Dinsenbacher of the Saugus Action Committee, and Theone Miller - as a Valencia area representative - could not be reached Monday.

The open seats are proposed to be filled by Spencer Leafdale, who sits on the oversight panel for the city's open-space acquisition district, Roger Wagner, Edward Hill and David Thompson. The four men could not be reached Monday.

The City Council meets at 6 p.m. in the Council Chambers at City Hall, located at 23920 Valencia Blvd.


Most Popular Articles

There are no articles at this time.
Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.


Powered By
Morris Technology
Please wait ...