View Mobile Site

Ask the Expert

Signal Photos


SCV’s Newsmakers nominees announced

Posted: January 22, 2011 8:43 p.m.
Updated: January 23, 2011 4:30 a.m.


Nominations for the 14th annual Newsmakers of the Year awards have been announced. The award nominations were voted on by a committee of community leaders and the board of the Santa Clarita Valley Press Club.

Heading up the list of Newsmaker of the Year for 2010 are Judy Fish, superintendent of the Saugus Union School District, Santa Clarita Councilman Bob Kellar, Santa Clarita Councilwoman Laurene Weste and Jim Ventress, Boys & Girls Club chief professional officer.

The annual Newsmakers event, to benefit the Randy Wicks Memorial First Amendment Scholarship program will be held Friday, March 11 at the Hyatt Regency Valencia.

Nominations are for individuals, businesses and organizations that made significant news in the SCV in 2010, said SCV Press Club President  Michele E. Buttelman, features and entertainment editor of The Signal.

“We had a very dedicated group that worked extremely hard,” Buttelman said. “The committee has produced a very thoughtful list.”

In addition to the awards nominated by the committee, The Signal’s sportswriting staff assembled the list of sports nominees. Still to be named are nominees for the Friend of the Press award to be voted on by the editorial staff of The Signal.

The list of nominees includes:
Community Service: Shelley Hann, DaAnne Smith, Harold and Jacquie Petersen, Anna Ott, Julie Benson and Pamela Braly.

Organization: Santa Clarita Valley Food Pantry, Single Mothers Outreach, Dancing with our Stars, Zonta Club of Santa Clarita Valley, the city of Santa Clarita and the Domestic Violence Center of Santa Clarita Valley.

Behind the Scenes: Scott Wilk, John Heys, Charlie Gill, Sue Nevius, Elizabeth Hopp and Jeff Hacker.

Business of the Year: Vino 100, Bank of Santa Clarita, Princess Cruises, Good Neighbor Pharmacies, Valencia Acura and Newhall Bicycle Company.

Businessperson: Jim Hicken, Roger Seaver, Greg Amsler, Ian Lamont and Bobbi Jean Bell.

Most controversial: Johnny Pride, Bob Kellar, Joe Messina, Dean Paradise and the trustees of the William S. Hart Union School District.

Sports Male: Steven Manfro of Valencia football; Danny Worth of the Detroit Tigers (Valencia High graduate); Lonnie Jackson of Valencia basketball; Mike Montgomery of the Kansas City Royals (Hart High graduate) and Chris Varner of Canyon football.

Sports Female: Alison Lee of Valencia golf; Taylor Lilley of the Phoenix Mercury (Hart High graduate); Madison Shipman of Valencia softball: Ashley Wakefield of College of the Canyons basketball and Alysia Johnson of USA Track and Field (Canyon High graduate).

Sports Team: Hart football, Saugus Girls Cross Country, Saugus boys cross country, Valencia football and Saugus girls track and field.

Members of the SCV Press Club board of directors include Buttelman, Tim Whyte, Lila Littlejohn, Morris Thomas, Gail Shaughnessy, Marlee Lauffer, Eric Harnish, Barbara Myler and Craig Leener.

Members of the nominating committee included: Gail Ortiz, Marc Emmer, Liz Seipel, Jeanna Crawford, Kim Altobello, Sharon Bronson, Sue Bozman, Jami Kennedy, Jim Piccirillo, Jana Adkins, Cary Osborne, Natalie Everett, Ed Masterson and Maureen Daniels.

For more information about the Newsmakers Awards dinner contact


Most Popular Articles

There are no articles at this time.
Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.


Powered By
Morris Technology
Please wait ...