View Mobile Site

Ask the Expert

Signal Photos


Prep tennis: Familiar names on top

Defending Foothill League champion Valencia rules at Spring Smash

Posted: March 20, 2011 1:55 a.m.
Updated: March 20, 2011 1:55 a.m.

The ultimate measuring stick for Foothill League teams in boys tennis is actual league competition.

The next best thing is the Varsity Spring Smash, which featured all six Foothill teams as well as Granada Hill and Camarillo on Saturday at Valencia High School.

The host team was the big winner of the day, representing the winning singles player, the winning doubles team and taking home the overall points championship.

“We’ve been playing a lot,” said Valencia head coach Annie Kellogg. “They’re getting more confident in their games, and I think they’re improving a lot.”

J.R. Macalutas took home the singles trophy, defeating Camarillo’s Justin Anderson 8-5.

West Ranch’s No. 1 doubles team of Brandon Lee and Evan Abott was upset 8-5 in the third round by Valencia’s Anders Jansson and Joey Fernicola.

They West Ranch pair ended up taking fourth place.

“It kind of sounds like the same old story,” said West Ranch head coach Eric Spiecker. “We get to the semifinal up against Valencia, and we lose. I think we’ve just got to find the pen and paper to rewrite that story.”

Teams were given points based on the results of each individual set, and the Vikings led the way with 22. The Wildcats came in second with 15 and Camarillo scored 12 for third.

Valencia’s John Schmidt and Russell Del Rosario took down the doubles final, topping their teammates Jansson and Fernicola 8-6.

The third-place doubles matchup was also a battle of teammates as West Ranch’s Ali El Arabi and Ryan Yoon beat Lee and Abott 8-6.

One of last year’s All-Santa Clarita Valley singles first-teamer, Canyon’s Jason Ferlianto, took fourth place after losing 8-3 in the semifinals to Macalutas.

For the players that lost in the first round, consolation brackets were set up.

In the singles consolation final, Golden Valley’s Myles Moore beat Hart’s David Afework 8-1.

Saugus’ Chris Macdonald and Tristin Thierry claimed a victory in the doubles consolation bracket, besting teammates Kevin Okimoto and Josh Hill 8-4 in the final.


Most Popular Articles

There are no articles at this time.
Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.


Powered By
Morris Technology
Please wait ...