View Mobile Site

Ask the Expert

Signal Photos


Dems, GOP plan central-committee changes

Posted: June 7, 2012 4:00 a.m.
Updated: June 7, 2012 4:00 a.m.

The Santa Clarita Valley’s two county central committees — both Republican and Democrat — will both see some changes after Tuesday’s election, with two familiar faces — Bob and Lynn Haueter — preparing to leave the Los Angeles County Republican 38th District Central Committee after failing to gather enough votes to make the committee.

Central committees play a role as the local party headquarters, help register party members to vote and communicate with them about important issues, according to members of the two local central committees.

While incumbents Joe Messina, B.J. Atkins, and Michael Hildebrand made it back onto the committee, Bob and Lynn Haueter did not Tuesday night, with Lynn Haueter gathering 6.18 percent of the vote and Bob Haueter — the current chairman of the committee — gathering 6.16 percent of the vote.

Brett Ryan Walter, Adam A. Gregory, Errol W. Valladares and Wendy M Albright will be joining the committee instead.
Lynn Haueter said Wednesday that she was disappointed that she wasn’t reelected, but still has plans to help her party this year. Lynn Haueter served two terms on the committee, and was recently selected as a delegate for Republican Presidential Candidate Mitt Romney to help him win November’s presidential election.

“I’m sure anyone who runs for something and doesn’t get elected is disappointed,” Lynn Haueter said. “I respect the voters and wish everyone the best in getting our candidates elected.”

Bob Haueter was also disappointed that he was not re-elected, but said he was also going to continue working hard for Republicans.

“We have an election, and that’s what elections are for,” Bob Haueter said Wednesday. “The people voted, and I accept it and respect it.”

In the Los Angeles County Democratic 38th District Central Committee, incumbents Diana Shaw, Kristin Ingram-Worthman, Carole L. Lutness, Lynne Plambeck, and Richard M. Mathews were all re-elected. Minerva L. Williams — who was on a different central committee until she was redistricted — and Bob Levine will now join the committee.


Most Popular Articles

There are no articles at this time.
Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.


Powered By
Morris Technology
Please wait ...