View Mobile Site

Ask the Expert

Signal Photos


Deadline passes for June primaries

Posted: March 11, 2008 4:01 a.m.
Updated: May 12, 2008 5:01 a.m.
The June primary will be cakewalk for local elected officials, most of whom face no challengers from within their own parties.

County Supervisor Michael D. Antonovich, running for re-election in the Fifth District, which includes the Santa Clarita Valley, will not face opposition for the Republican nomination, though he will likely face Stephen Mark Hinze, a warehouse worker from Burbank, in the November General Election.

Hinze is running under the Party for Socialism and Liberation ticket.

In the 25th Congressional District, which also includes the SCV, Howard "Buck" McKeon, R-Santa Clarita, will be running unopposed in the Republican primary, though he will face Jacques Conaway of Barstow, who running unopposed for the Democratic nomination, in November.

At the state level, Assemblyman Cameron Smyth, R-Santa Clarita, and Sen. George Runner, R-Lancaster, also face no opposition in June. In November each will face a local Democratic activist.

Those activists also will go unchallenged in June. They are Carole L. Lutness, who has filed for Smyth's seat, and Bruce McFarland, who filed for Runner's 17th District Senate seat.

Competition will make an appearance on the June ballot for Central Committee seats.

Running for the county's Republican Central Committee seats are: Susan Abato; B.J. Atkins; Bob Haueter; Michael Hildebrand, Jr.; Kevin Korenthal; Jacob Lohr; Steve Lunetta; Joe Messina; L. "Lucy" Tajerian; and Scott Wilk. All nine candidates are vying for seven seats.

For the county's Democratic Central Committee, the following candidates have filed nomination papers: Horacio Francisco Ariza; Jim Hilfenhaus; Dwight Hines; Isaac Lieberman; Carole Lutness; David Lutness; Richard Matthews; Bruce McFarland; Masato Muso; Lynne Plambeck; Diana Shaw; Lyn Shaw; A. Lysa Simon; and Stephen Samuel Winkler. Similar to the Republican Central Committee, the 14 Democratic candidates are seeking seven seats.

Both Central Committees cover the 38th District, which includes the SCV.


Most Popular Articles

There are no articles at this time.
Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.


Powered By
Morris Technology
Please wait ...